Veteran all-rounder Deandra Dottin was the only West Indies player named to the all-star team for the just concluded ICC Women’s Twenty20 World Cup.

While the hosts under-performed in failing to defend their title, Dottin stood out especially with the ball as she claimed the joint most wickets with 10, along with Australian seamer Megan Schutt and teammate, off-spinner Ashleigh Gardner.

The 27-year-old, a sharp medium pacer, produced career-best figures of five for five against Bangladesh as West Indies got their campaign up and running with a convincing 60-run victory in Guyana.

With the bat, the right-hander scored 121 runs – the most by a West Indies player – which was good enough to place her in the top 10 for the tournament.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announced the team of the tournament of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 based on performances during the 16-day tournament held across three venues in the West Indies. Three players each from England and India, two from Australia and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand and the Windies have been named in the eleven, which was selected by an esteemed selection panel that included three former international players.
India captain Harmanpreet Kaur, one of two captains to make the squad along with Pakistan’s Javeria Khan, has been named to lead the team, with player of the tournament Alyssa Healy of Australia, India’s left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana and England’s Amy Jones nominated to bat ahead of her.
All-rounders Deandra Dottin of the Windies and Allyse Perry of Australia, and England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are the seam bowlers in the squad with off-spinner Leigh Kasperek of New Zealand, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav of India and left-arm spinner Kirstie Gordon of England the slow bowlers. Bangladesh’s new-ball bowler Jahanara Alam has been named as the 12th player.
The selection panel comprised former players and commentators Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell and ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice.

ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Alyssa Healy (Australia) – 225 runs
Smriti Mandhana (India) – 178 runs
Amy Jones (England, wicketkeeper) – 107 runs, 5 dismissals
Harmanpreet Kaur (India, Captain) – 183 runs
Deandra Dottin (Windies) – 121 runs, 10 wickets
Javeria Khan (Pakistan) – 136 runs
Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 60 runs, 9 wickets
Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand) – 8 wickets
Anya Shrubsole (England) – 7 wickets
Kirstie Gordon (England) – 8 wickets
Poonam Yadav (India) – 8 wickets